SAE International Journal of Alternative Powertrains



Aims & Scope
Journal Image

From 2020, the SAE International Journal of Alternative Powertrains is now available with a new title: SAE International Journal of Electrified Vehicles

Indexed in

    Journal Impact Factor™ (JIF): 1.1

    ESCI (Emerging Sources Citation Index, Web of Science)
    Engineering Village (Ei Compendex)

Editorial Board
Editor in Chief

Simona Onori, Ph.D., Stanford University, USA
Simona Onori received her Laurea Degree, summa cum laude, (CSE) in 2003, her M.S. (ECE) in 2004, her Ph.D. (Control Engineering) in 2007, from University of Rome ‘Tor Vergata’, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, USA, and University of Rome ‘Tor Vergata’, respectively. She is an Assistant Professor at the Energy Resources Engineering Department at Stanford University since October 2017 and holds a courtesy appointment in Electrical Engineering. Prior to that, she was an Assistant Professor at Clemson University – International Center for Automotive Research.

Her research interests are in sustainable transportation and clean energy with a focus on hybrid and electric propulsions systems and their components, emission mitigation devices and grid-storage systems. Ongoing research efforts are in the area of electrified powertrain modeling and optimization and lithium-ion batteries and supercapacitor modeling and estimation.

She is the recipient of the 2019 Board of Trustees Award for Excellence, Clemson University, the 2018 Global Innovation Contest Award, LG Chem, the 2018 SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award, the 2017 NSF CAREER Award, the 2017 Clemson University College of Engineering and Science Dean’s Faculty Fellows Award, the 2017 Clemson University Esin Gulari Leadership & Service Award, the 2016 Energy Leadership Award in the category Emerging Leader (for the Carolinas), the 2015 Innovision Award (South Carolina), and 2012 Lumley Interdisciplinary Research, 2011 Outstanding Technology Team Award, TechColumbus.

Editorial Board

Associate Editors
Hua (Kevin) Bai, University of Tennessee - Knoxville, USA
Nicolò Cavina, University of Bologna, Italy
Michael Duoba, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Ir. T. (Theo) Hofman, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Netherlands
Xiaosong Hu, Chongqing University, China
Rajit Johri, Ford Motor Company, USA
Alvaro Masias, Ford Motor Company, USA
Ziyou Song, University of Michigan, USA
Marco Sorrentino, University of Salerno, Italy
Rui Xiong, Ph.D., Beijing Institute of Technology, China

Published Volumes