SAE International Journal of Advances and Current Practices in Mobility



Aims & Scope
Journal Image

SAE International Journal of Advances and Current Practices in Mobility is a new journal dedicated to publishing the top, archivable, peer-reviewed papers from SAE conferences and events. Papers are selected for SAE conferences and events after going through a rigorous peer-review process and evaluation by session organizers. Based on the scoring from the peer reviewers and recommendations from the session organizers, the top archivable papers are selected to be published in this journal.

SAE International Journal of Advances and Current Practices in Mobility covers all aspects of transportation mobility, whether by ground, sea, space, or air. SAE International conferences are global in scope and cover some of the most up-to-date topics and trends in different mobility areas, such as cybersecurity, crash reconstruction, assisted driving and automated driving systems, fuels, connected vehicles, advanced manufacturing, UAVs, big data, IoT, diagnostics, and more. Collecting and archiving the top papers makes this journal a valuable communication medium and source for practicing and forward-thinking engineers, executives, OEMs, suppliers, and decision makers in the mobility engineering field.


Indexed in

    Engineering Village (Ei Compendex)
    IET Inspec
    Japan Science and Technology (JST) Agency

Editorial Board
Editor in Chief

Dr. Mohamed El-Sayed, Eastern Michigan University, USA

Dr. Peijun Xu, Ebco, Inc., USA

Dr. Nadir Yilmaz, Howard University, USA

Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Mohamed El-Sayed, Eastern Michigan University, USA
Dr. Mohamed El-Sayed, P.E., is the director of the School of Engineering Technology at Eastern Michigan University. For more than 20 years, he served as a professor of mechanical engineering and director of the Vehicle Integration & Durability Laboratory at Kettering University in Michigan. He is a well-recognized technical leader in vehicle integration, vehicle development, optimization, and validation. Dr. El-Sayed has been awarded the SAE International Medal of Honor, SAE’s most prestigious award. He is an SAE and ASME fellow, as well as the Editor-in-Chief of the SAE International Journal of Passenger Cars—Mechanical Systems and the SAE International Journal of Advances and Current Practices in Mobility, the inaugural chair of the SAE Journals’ Committee, and the inaugural Editor-in-Chief of the SAE International Journal of Materials and Manufacturing. In addition, Dr. El-Sayed is a member of the editorial boards of numerous other technical journals. He has served as a board member, advisor, and consultant to several organizations. Through his research, teaching, and industrial practice he has made important original contributions to advance the state of the art in product development, vehicle integration, design optimization, lean design, integrated design and manufacturing, and theoretical and applied mechanics. Dr. El-Sayed has over 30 years of industrial, teaching, and research experience, several patents granted, and more than 100 publications in his fields of expertise. He is an award-winning educator, especially in the areas of engineering capstone project courses and online education. Through his teaching and advising, he has contributed to the education of hundreds of engineers now engaged in the field of automotive engineering and product development. Dr. El-Sayed has also worked as a chief engineer, director of engineering, lead engineer, and subject matter expert in the automotive industry. At General Motors, he led the quality, durability, and reliability integration, development, and validation of several vehicles, platforms, and architectures.

Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Peijun Xu, Ebco Inc, USA
Xu has more than 20 years of experience in vehicle research and development, focusing on vehicle dynamics, durability, lightweighting, and NVH. Xu’s industry experience includes R&D work at Chrysler, Commercial Vehicle Group, and Ebco Inc. Xu is a member of the SAE Chassis and Suspension Committee, SAE Materials Modeling and Testing Committee, SAE Technical Quality Response Team, and ASME Vehicle Design Committee. He has been a co-organizer for SAE World Congress Vehicle Loads and Performance program since 2005. Xu served as chair of the SAE Materials Modeling and Testing Committee between 2014 and 2016. He is an editorial board member for several international journals, including International Journal of Vehicle Performance. Xu received the SAE Forest R. McFarland Award in 2011 and was elected to be an SAE Fellow in 2014. Xu is also the Editor-in-Chief for SAE International Journal of Vehicle Dynamics, Stability, and NVH.

Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Nadir Yilmaz, Howard University, USA
Nadir Yilmaz is a professor and the department chair of Mechanical Engineering at Howard University, as well as, a licensed professional engineer (P.E.) and consultant. He received B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in Mechanical Engineering from Istanbul Technical University, Bradley University and New Mexico State University, respectively. He is a Fellow of ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers), a Fellow of NSPE (National Society of Professional Engineers) and a Fellow of SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers). He has been a noted author of many publications in the fields of combustion, CFD, rocket propulsion and automotive engineering. He was a U.S. Department of Energy Visiting Faculty Fellow at Sandia National Laboratories in 2012 and 2013. He has educated and mentored many underrepresented minority and female students via various STEM programs including the NSF-funded AMP (Alliance for Minority Participation) program.

Dr. Yilmaz serves as the Editor-In-Chief for the SAE International Journal of Fuels and Lubricants and as a member of the editorial board of numerous international journals. In addition, he serves on SAE Foundation Board of Trustees, NSPE Education Foundation Board of Trustees, New Mexico AMP Advisory Board and the Board of Directors of Society of Automotive Engineers of Turkey. Dr. Yilmaz has also served as the Past Chair of SAE Education Board, NSPE Higher Education Executive Board, SAE Washington DC Section and ASME New Mexico Section.

Click Here for List of Full Editorial Board

Technical Session Organizers from:

  • AEROTECH® Americas
  • AEROTECH® Europe
  • Asia-Pacific Automotive Engineering Conference
  • Brake Colloquium & Exhibition
  • Conference on Sustainable Mobility
  • Innovations in Mobility – Young Professional Technical Paper Competition
  • International Conference on Advances in Design, Materials, Manufacturing and Surface Engineering for Mobility
  • International Conference on Engines & Vehicles
  • International Conference on Icing of Aircraft, Engines, and Structures
  • JSAE/SAE Small Engine Technology Conference
  • JSAE/SAE Powertrains, Fuels & Lubricants International Meeting
  • Noise and Vibration Conference
  • NuGen Mobility Summit
  • SAE International Powertrains, Fuels & Lubricants Meeting
  • Symposium on International Automotive Technology
  • WCXTM World Congress Experience

Published Volumes