FAA/EASA Certification, Methods of Compliance for 29.865 External Loads

Certifying an aircraft, part or appliance can be challenge. The FAA/EASA procedures can be frustrating and a maze of rules, policy and guidance. Understanding the process and procedures can provide you with a competitive edge and reduce your time obtaining a Certification approval. This course provides an overview of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) policies, guidelines and requirements leading to Type and Supplemental Type airworthiness approvals. This course has a focus on 29.865 External loads to include hoists, belly-mounted external structure and cargo hook loads...

What Will You Learn

By attending this seminar, you will be able to:

  • Understand aviation authority FAA processes for certification of products
  • Understand the role of various aviation authority roles
  • Describe the principles of Type Certification and Supplemental Type Certification requirements and process
  • Understand the rules for certification under 29.865
  • Understand the methods for certification under 29.865
  • Understand where to find the guidance for FAA and EASA certification under 29.865
  • Identify the difference between airworthiness standard and operational rules
  • Identify the how a certification approval does not grant an operations approval

Is This Course For You

This course is designed for engineering and certification managers, design engineers, airworthiness and certification engineers, quality assurance inspectors and engineers, program managers, and consultants. The course will help newcomers to aircraft certification as well as experienced attendees better understand the certification process and be able to present and negotiate certification matters with the Federal Aviation Administration Aircraft Certification Office.

Materials Provided

This data is not available at this time

Course Requirements

This data is not available at this time


Day One
    I. Intro
    II. International Civil Aeronautics Organization
      0. Standards and Recommended Practices
    III. Definitions
    IV. Design Criteria
    V. Usage Profiles
    VI. Segmented Certification
    VII. Load Classifications
      0. Class A
      1. Class B
      2. Class C
      3. Class D
    VIII. System reliability
      0. Safety Assessment Processes
      1. FHA
      2. SSA
      3. FMEA
      4. CCA
      5. Industry guidance
Day Two
    IX. Structural Analysis
    X. HIRF
    XI. Hoist Qualification
      0. Limit Loads
      1. Non-human Qualification
      2. Human Qualification
      3. Fatigue Evaluation
    XII. Agriculture Qualification
    XIII. Release Systems
    XIV. System Reliability
    XV. Crashworthiness
    XVI. Flying Qualities
    XVII. Limitations
    XVIII. Flight Manuals