This content is not included in your SAE MOBILUS subscription, or you are not logged in.

SAE International Journal of Connected and Automated Vehicles

ISSN: 2574-0741, e-ISSN: 2574-075X


Prof. Dr. Daniel Watzenig, Graz University of Technology and Virtual Vehicle Research Center, Austria
Daniel Watzenig received his doctoral degree in electrical engineering from Graz University of Technology, Austria, in 2006. In 2009 he received the venia docendi (associate professorship) for Electrical Measurement and Signal Processing. Since 2017 he has been a Full Professor of Automated Driving at the Institute of Automation and Control, Graz University of Technology. In addition, he is Divisional Director and Scientific Head of the Automotive Electronics and Software Department of the Virtual Vehicle Research Center in Graz. Since 2015, he has been the Vice President of the ARTEMIS Industry Association (European Research Association on Embedded Control Systems).

His research interests focus on sense & control of automated vehicles, digital signal processing, uncertainty estimation and quantification, and stochastic optimization. He is the author or co-author of more than 160 peer-reviewed papers, book chapters, patents, and articles. In 2005 he served as a visiting researcher at the University of Auckland, New Zealand, working on multi-sensor data fusion. In 2011 and 2017 he served as a visiting researcher and guest lecturer at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. He is the Austrian representative (appointed by the Austrian Federal Ministry of Transport) of Electrified, Connected, and Automated Vehicles within the International Energy Agency (IEA). Since 2016 he has been the Chair of the Task Force on “Methods and Tools for Virtual Development and Validation” of the European Automotive Research Partners Association (EARPA).

Terry Fruehling, LionThorn, LLC, USA
Terry Fruehling, Editor-in-Chief of the SAE International Journal of Connected and Automated Vehicles, has had a 45-year engineering career that includes technical leadership positions for mission critical systems in Medical, Automotive, and Communications companies. In addition to his contributions to the journal, Terry is an active member of several SAE standard generation groups.

In the automotive industry alone, he has contributed to crucial systems like ABS electronic controllers, Lock-step microcontroller systems, pressure transducers, and speed/position sensors for GM, Ford, Chrysler, and Harley Davidson Vehicles. In the medical industry, he helped develop heart-lung machines, kidney dialysis pumps, Cardioplegia machines and air bubble detectors. In the banking industry, he launched secured rack modems.

He holds 10 functional safety patents which are relevant to: the diagnostic monitoring and safety mechanism capabilities of embedded microcontrollers, such as the lock-step CPU with functional compare (including real-time BIST), data stream monitor, on chip instrumentation, and a Network On Chip (NOC) - integrated network performance analyzer.

He is a lecturer and system safety consultant serving numerous companies to assess safety architectures and develop safety-related process methodologies. His work also included SBIR efforts with Honeywell aerospace to develop improved prognostic/diagnostic tools for fault-tolerant data busses.

Currently, he is the co-owner and Functional Safety Engineering Consultant for LionThorn, LLC.

Editorial Board:

Associate Editors
Xian-Xu (Frank) Bai, Hefei University of Technology, China
Saeed Barbat, Executive Technical Leader for Safety, Ford Motor Company, USA
Madhur Behl, Computer Science, Systems and Information Engineering, University of Virginia, USA
Johannes Betz, Technical University of Munich, Germany
Sourabh Bhattacharya, Mechanical Engineering, Iowa State University, USA
Hoseinali Borhan, Cummins, Inc., USA
Andrew Bradley, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Zachary Doerzaph, Virginia Tech Transportation Institute, USA
Robert Fischer, Geospatial Transportation Information Management Association, USA
Zonghua Gu, Umeå University, Sweden
Umar Zakir Abdul Hamid, China Euro Vehicle Technology AB, Sweden
Kyungtae (KT) Han, Toyota Motor North America, USA
Chuan Hu, University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA
Valentin Ivanov, Technische Universität Ilmenau, Germany
Ken Kang, Honda R&D Americas, Inc., USA
Pardis Khayyer, Aptiv Corporation, USA
Ashoka Kumar, IntelliPredikt Technologies, India
Robert Lange, Principal, Exponent, Engineering and Scientific Consulting, USA
Abdel-Ra'ouf Mayyas, Automotive Engineering/ Polytechnic School, Arizona State University, USA
Steven Muldoon, GM, USA
Muthuvel Murugan, U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA
Eric Nutt, Mandli, USA
Georgios Papaioannou, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Ramkrishna Pasumarthy, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Madras, India
Hrishikesh Venkataraman, Indian Institute of Information Technology (IIIT) Sri City, India
Zejiang Wang, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA 
Ziran Wang, Purdue University, USA
Guoyuan Wu, Center for Environmental Research and Technology (CE-CERT), University of CA, Riverside, USA
Kevin Quanzhong Yan, Chrysler Technology Center, FCA US LLC, USA
Huilin Yin, Tongji University, China
Hui Zhang, School of Transportation Science and Engineering, Beihang University, China
Lei Zhang, Beijing Institute of Technology, China

Indexed in:

Engineering Village (Ei Compendex)
IET Inspec
Japan Science and Technology (JST) Agency

SAE International Journal of Connected and Automated Vehicles